Panic stops

Quigg
Old King Fart

Panic stops

Postby Quigg » February 20th, 2011, 9:12 am

I have been cleaning out my hard drive and I ran across this from the days of the old VOL. Thought I might post it before it goes to the trash bin.

Panic Stops

No this isn’t about what to do when a Lincoln pulls a left in front of you or when you have a hornet in your full face helmet or a cramp in your big toe or even when you realize you forgot your passenger at the last rest stop. It’s about the “Big One”!

I’m not qualified to advise anybody on proper braking techniques, but I’ve had some experience with the most terrifying of panic stops. I feel I can offer some sound advice here.

I’m not talking about jamming on the binders to avoid an accident. Well, I guess I am in a way. The panic stop I’m referring to is really to avoid an accident, of sorts. It’s the accident that happens about five minutes after the first cramp.

It has many names. Skidders, the back door trots (from the days of outhouses), Montezuma’s revenge, and sudden distress in the lower tract to name a few. Yes, I’m talking about ---DIARRHEA! . If you have ever watched a buddy dump on his bike in a panic stop you know it’s not a pretty sight.

I’ll try to do this as delicately as possible. There is so much to think about during any emergency and time is usually in short supply. That is why you must think about these situations beforehand so you may be prepared. Otherwise you could find yourself in deep do-do.

If you happen to be within a few minutes of a rest area or service facility when the symptoms begin you should be o-kay but when the nearest relief is thirty miles ahead you had better start making plans. You don’t want to get caught in traffic, you must fight shy of bridges and tunnels, and you need to be ready to take advantage of billboards, trees, bushes, or high grass if no other cover presents itself. Privacy is very important.